PDA

View Full Version : 2015 Sync freezing, supposedly on latest update.



RStolz
04-14-2015, 08:26 AM
Aybody around with a '15 FiST having Sync Issues? No TSB's, updates or recalls, but I'm having some irritating issues.

My issues:
1. THis happened once: I was using the voice audio controls to tune the radio at the same time a phone call came in over BT, after taking the call, Sync Froze. I could use the manual controls to get audio from other sources, but the radio would not turn on. I had to park the car, turn it off and restart.

2. This happened once: The first time using Sirius Radio, Sync Froze while loading stations. No Sync functionality at all. This was on a long road trip. I had to pull over, shut the car down and restart.

3. This happens all the time, never works properly: the Screen will not display the correct radio station. Sometimes it won't show a station at all, sometimes it shows the previous station.


When it works, it's awesome, but too often it doesn't, and that makes me want more traditional controls.

RStolz
04-15-2015, 07:01 AM
Nothin'?

I was hoping to snag the attention of one of the Ford Reps.

BoostBumps
04-15-2015, 07:49 AM
Nothin'?

I was hoping to snag the attention of one of the Ford Reps.

Here's how to get their attention...

FordService

or you can also PM them...

http://www.fiestastforum.com/forum/members/582-FordService

good luck!

RStolz
04-15-2015, 07:55 AM
thanks! couldn't figure out the tagging thing, and didn't want to jump straight to PM, in case anyone else was having similar issues. That was my next step though.

FordService
04-15-2015, 02:01 PM
Nothin'?

I was hoping to snag the attention of one of the Ford Reps.


Here's how to get their attention...

FordService

or you can also PM them...

http://www.fiestastforum.com/forum/members/582-FordService

good luck!

Hi RStolz, and thanks BoostBumps!
We now have our lovely FordIVTteam agents on this board. They'll be able to work with you on anything SYNC related. :)

Meagan

FordIVTteam
04-15-2015, 02:29 PM
Thanks for the shout, Meagan!

RStolz, please PM your VIN and the make/model/ carrier of your phone when you get a chance. I'd like to verify that you have the latest software and look at a couple other things. After that, I'll respond here with some troubleshooting steps. Like you said, it's better to provide that information publicly in case anyone else needs it. :)

Rebecca

RStolz
04-15-2015, 02:42 PM
PM sent, thanks for the response!

Oh, I forgot in the PM but my phone carrier is ATT

Toast
04-15-2015, 02:43 PM
I've got the same problem since the update, but mine is freezing when I receive text messages. I'll PM my car and phone info to you.

FordIVTteam
04-15-2015, 03:25 PM
PM sent, thanks for the response!

Oh, I forgot in the PM but my phone carrier is ATT

Thanks! I'll take a look and get back to you tomorrow.


I've got the same problem since the update, but mine is freezing when I receive text messages. I'll PM my car and phone info to you.

Sounds good, Toast. :)

Rebecca

RStolz
04-20-2015, 06:23 AM
Thanks! I'll take a look and get back to you tomorrow.



Sounds good, Toast. :)

Rebecca

Any update on this

FordIVTteam
04-20-2015, 12:47 PM
Aybody around with a '15 FiST having Sync Issues? No TSB's, updates or recalls, but I'm having some irritating issues.

My issues:
1. THis happened once: I was using the voice audio controls to tune the radio at the same time a phone call came in over BT, after taking the call, Sync Froze. I could use the manual controls to get audio from other sources, but the radio would not turn on. I had to park the car, turn it off and restart.

2. This happened once: The first time using Sirius Radio, Sync Froze while loading stations. No Sync functionality at all. This was on a long road trip. I had to pull over, shut the car down and restart.

3. This happens all the time, never works properly: the Screen will not display the correct radio station. Sometimes it won't show a station at all, sometimes it shows the previous station.


When it works, it's awesome, but too often it doesn't, and that makes me want more traditional controls.

I took a look at everything, and your software looks good on my side. Here are my recommendations:

1. Keep an eye out for this to happen again. It sounds like it may have just been a hiccup.

2. There was recently a SiriusXM channel update which could have caused it to seem frozen. The update was in the beginning of April. Is that around the time this happened?

3. Please perform a master reset by following these instructions:

http://owner.ford.com/how-tos/sync-technology/myford-touch/phone-setup/how-to-perform-a-master-reset.html

You will have to re-pair your phone once it's completed. Once your phone is paired, follow these steps to turn off AUTO PHONEBOOK DOWNLOAD:

http://owner.ford.com/how-tos/sync-technology/myford-touch/phone-setup/manage-your-phonebook-to-work-with-sync.html

Let me know if that helps with these concerns.

Rebecca

RStolz
04-20-2015, 02:13 PM
I took a look at everything, and your software looks good on my side. Here are my recommendations:

1. Keep an eye out for this to happen again. It sounds like it may have just been a hiccup.

2. There was recently a SiriusXM channel update which could have caused it to seem frozen. The update was in the beginning of April. Is that around the time this happened?

3. Please perform a master reset by following these instructions:

http://owner.ford.com/how-tos/sync-technology/myford-touch/phone-setup/how-to-perform-a-master-reset.html

You will have to re-pair your phone once it's completed. Once your phone is paired, follow these steps to turn off AUTO PHONEBOOK DOWNLOAD:

http://owner.ford.com/how-tos/sync-technology/myford-touch/phone-setup/manage-your-phonebook-to-work-with-sync.html

Let me know if that helps with these concerns.

Rebecca

will do.

1. yea I figured this was likely just a "everything aligned perfectly to freak out the system" type of deal, but wanted it out there.

2. I bought the car in March, but I didn't touch Sirius until that road trip, weekend of 4/10. I gave it about 10 minutes before I pulled over. Afterwards Sirius worked fine, so I guess it could have been the channel update caused the freeze.

3. I'll try that, and post back in the next couple days.

me32
04-20-2015, 11:43 PM
I had a couple issues like that. But seemed after a master reset it helped. Havent had it do it since.

FineTooned
04-21-2015, 12:20 AM
Starting about two months ago, I've been having similar issues with the whole thing freezing for several minutes and then going black and rebooting on its own. Recently, sync has been losing track of the navigation memory card, saying it needs to be inserted even though it already is inserted. Sync has also lost connection with the two USB ports.

And the latest quirk is that the touch-beep has stopped working even though it is set to beep in the settings. I know that one I s pretty minor, but on top of all the other issues it's been having, it just adds to the frustration.

The dealership couldn't reproduce the issues obviously since they happen randomly and seem to fix themselves after shutting the car off and restarting. But, I've been taking photos of the error messages whenever they happen. Anyway, the dealer reset the system. But the problems eventually returned. Going back to the dealer next week. Here's hoping that a permanent fix is available soon.

CanadianGuy
04-21-2015, 08:21 AM
Recently, sync has been losing track of the navigation memory card, saying it needs to be inserted even though it already is inserted. Sync has also lost connection with the two USB ports.


I had the exact same problem in our 2011 Edge. The issue was not Sync but the wire harness was not fully plugged and damaged. Once the dealership replaced the cabling into the armrest problem went away. Maybe it is the same for you.

FineTooned
04-22-2015, 12:39 AM
Thanks for that info, CanadianGuy. That would totally make sense since the problem started after the dealership adjusted my parking brake, which required pulling the center console. I'll bring that up with them when I bring my car in next week. Fingers crossed that that fixes the problem.

RStolz
04-28-2015, 07:21 AM
Sorry, it's been a while. I got the reset done and it seems to have mostly done the trick. Radio stations have been properly showing up.

I haven't used Sirius for several weeks, so I don't know how that works, and I haven't had another instance of it locking up when a phone call comes in either.

Thanks!