Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Under Seat Subwoofer Install Overview (Kenwood KSC-SW11)

While not meant to be a super comprehensive guide, this is a general overview of my installation of the under seat subwoofer from Kenwood, the KSC-SW11. I went into this largely blind so hopefully this may help someone planning to do the same thing. I'm not a professional, and am not responsible for any damage or injury if you follow what I say. Do your research.

What crap isn't included that I need for the install?

To start with the KSC-SW11 comes with MOST of the stuff you need. All those breathless reviews on Amazon saying it has everything, however, are just full of it.

So what do you need? Depends on how you do the install. Personally I wired everything into the fuse box. There are some people saying you need to go straight to the battery or the included power wiring needs to be upgraded. This is a small sub folks, it draws 7.5 amps max. The R/C model world that I come from pushes pretty high amperage through tiny wires. For as much juice as this thing is pulling, the included wiring and tapping into the fuse box ought to be fine, but do your own research and make your own decision.

So for those of you coming into this green, the sub requires a few connections to the car. It needs a connection to tell it when to turn on and off ("signal cable"), a connection for power, a connection for ground, and connections to the car's original speaker wires as an input source.

First we need some fuse taps. You can find these at some auto stores, I had to drive around to several just to find two. They are the Mini ATM versions that look like this. Make sure they have that gap in the middle. There is a similar kind with plastic in between the prongs, you don't want that.