Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Stratified tuning really worth it?

I've seen quite a few posts recommending getting a tune from stratified but I've got a couple questions. i only have the Cobb stage 1 package and its really only a high flow air filter so would the stratified tune really make a difference over the Cobb ots stage 1 tune? and i guess my bigger concern is would there be any issues with safety for the car? i'd love a little more kick but not at the long term expense of my car.

i'm new to tuning and modifying in general so i guess im just a little nervous going in.
any suggestions from anyone whos been running one for a while would be appreciated.

thanks guys

i ran a stage 2 OTS tune on a completely stock car. getting a pro tune wouldn't hurt it. it might be better to go to a local place that can tune your car. better than trying to calculate over an email.

I am running the 91oct strat flash tune and other than the AP itself is the best money you can spend on the car. Safer, faster, smoother and just all around better than Cobb stage 1. I am stock with a cat back currently and I cannot recommend this tune enough. Spend the $50 for the flash tune at least. You won't regret it.

To clarify the "Safer" comment, I was getting negative ignition corrections up to -3(knock) and sometimes higher on Cobb stage 1. They were not frequent but worrying enough to consider a different tune. So far on the strat tune I have only seen a single negative correction and it was likely due to my poor driving. No need for a pro-tune on a stock car. Unless you get an intercooler, the $50 strat flash tune is the way to go. I cannot speak for other tunes as I have only tried the 91oct strat flash tune and Cobb stage 1, but I can say the Canadians got it right.

OP
M
Thread Starter #6