Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

E-brake light comes on while driving. Dealer said it's because my pads are low.

My e-brake light started randomly turning on while driving a week or two ago, so I had the dealer look at it while getting my oil changed over the weekend. Mileage is just a tick over 22k.

They told me that it was probably because my pads are low (2-3mm) and that some fluid might be leaking. Of course, they also pushed me for a brake job on the spot.

I'm not surprised they tried to sell me on the brake service (especially with how these cars eat them), but does this sound reasonable to anybody?

I'm no mechanic, but I've never heard of low pads triggering the handbrake light, so their answer was about a 5 on my bullshit-o-meter.

felopr

22k on stock front pads, believable
the rear one can go to 34k-36k in my experience.
brake fluid leakage should be covered under warranty because that shouldn't happend.
when i changed the front ones, they went all the way to less to 1mm, never leaked
maybe they confuse it because, as you get the pads lower, the brake fluid reserve will get lower as well

If they think there is a brake fluid leak they should,before they change pads or anything to pressurize the brake system (like with a motive pressure bleeder) to see if there are leaks, if there is a leak (bad caliper seals, brake hose, etc) they should cover it under warranty, but for pads only , you are out of luck

OP
our guile
Thread Starter #3
I should clarify: I know the pads and rotors are not covered under the warranty. I'll replace the pads down the road with something that doesn't produce as much brake dust (Hawk 5.0 maybe?)

What I want to figure out is if the dealer's reasoning is sound. Would low pads cause my handbrake light to illuminate while driving?