Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Install of Blackvue Dashcam with Power Magic Pro

RaptorRacing

Vendor
Hey guys;

I've always loved the idea of a dashcam, I had a GPS w/a built in dash cam but the quality was OK...now that I just got the FIST I wanted to upgrade to something a little better. My criteria when shopping was:

• Must be HD
  • Nighttime Quality had to not suck
  • Being able to transfer it from Car to Car is a bonus.
  • Reviews had to be decent so was availability from a vendor who stands behind their products (NOT a fan of Amazon/Ebay for transactions like this)
  • Had to be very discreet
  • Wanted Parking Mode - Automatically starts recording when someone walks in front of the camera or car gets hit while parked
  • GPS was a bonus but not needed

I'll be the first to say; I'm NO expert in the field, I'm sure there are better units than I picked, I'm sure there are cheaper units that are better but after "a couple hours" of research I decided to grab a Blackvue DR650GW-1Ch:

and cause I wanted parking mode I picked up a power magic pro, this device allows the camera to plug into 1 accessory source and 1 source that has constant power and shuts the camera off when the battery gets too low:

This thread and this link were awesome in pointing me in the right direction. I picked up a couple of fuse taps too and wrapped some heat shrink tubing around them:

For the Accessory Power I taped into the Wiper Fuse and for Constant Power I taped into the tail lights fuse:

I saw that a lot of peeps use the location to the right of the fuse panel for the ground location, that to me seemed like a huge pain in the butt and used the location right above it, a 10mm socket is needed for this: