Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Tunes- for a Newbie

I keep reading about available tunes for the FIST. Cobb Access Port, Stratified, etc. I am a newbie for sure when it comes to tunes- I read about them but I am not the best with computers and have a hard time understanding the basics and how to install them.

I just read about the Stratified Tune- do I need the Cobb Accesport first? The Stratified site says that the tune is sent via E Mail? So what do you do from there? Download it to a USB, then install it on the car, or to Cobb Accessport first?

My questions may seem so obvious to some but it seems so complicated to me- and I keep hearing how the tune really wakes up the car.

SrsBsns

Definitely do some searching on the site here. There are a lot of good resources and things you'll want to know before getting a tune.

1. You need an Accessport. This will plug in to your OBD-II port. The Accessport (AP) will allow you to communicate with the car's ECU and replace the stock tune with another tune of your choice. The tune will control many things such as boost pressure and timing.

2. There are a wide varieties of tunes available. COBB offers "stages" of tunes. These levels are meant to be used to maximize specific modifications. Generally OTS (Off the shelf) tunes are safe, but if you're increasing your boost pressure, you'll want to make sure you've got a larger intercooler to help keep temps in line. The tunes that come with the AP are known as OTS tunes and are available to you with the AP.