Welcome to Fiesta ST Forum, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.
Register

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Member 141 Rep Points AzNightmare's Avatar
    0%
    Rate Transaction

    Member #
    4104
    Medals
    Earned First 100 Posts Earned First 500 Posts Earned First 25 Rep Points Earned First 50 Rep Points Earned First 100 Rep Points
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Iqaluit
    Country
    Canada
    Posts
    624
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Likes Received
    141


    CEL, does flashing ECU or uninstalling AP clear codes? (I don't want to clear my CEL code)

    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    My car threw a CEL and having issues and I'm planning to bring it into the dealer.

    Will reflashing to Stage 0 or uninstalling the AP automatically clear the code?

    I'm past the warranty window so I don't really need to hide the fact I tuned my car, but I just want to revert it back to stock so it helps the tech figure out what's going on easier since they'll be more familiar with the stock settings.

    But I obviously don't want my codes to clear if I'm going to get them to diagnose it...

    Anyone know?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Administrator Staff Team 1467 Rep Points Fiesta ST of the Month Winner D1JL's Avatar
    Ratings | Rate Transaction

    Member #
    879
    Medals
    Earned First 100 Posts Earned First 500 Posts Earned First 1000 Posts Earned First 2000 Posts Earned First 25 Rep Points Earned First 50 Rep Points Earned First 100 Rep Points Earned First 200 Rep Points Earned First 1500 Posts and 300 Rep Points Earned First 2000 Posts and 400 Rep Points Earned First 5000 Posts and 500 Rep Points
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    SFV, So.Cal.
    State
    CA
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    5,355
    Mentioned
    86 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Likes Received
    1467


    There have some cases where the PCM/ECU could NOT be re-flashed because an AP was installed.


  3. #3
    Member 141 Rep Points AzNightmare's Avatar
    0%
    Rate Transaction

    Member #
    4104
    Medals
    Earned First 100 Posts Earned First 500 Posts Earned First 25 Rep Points Earned First 50 Rep Points Earned First 100 Rep Points
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Iqaluit
    Country
    Canada
    Posts
    624
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Likes Received
    141


    Quote Originally Posted by D1JL View Post
    There have some cases where the PCM/ECU could NOT be re-flashed because an AP was installed.
    Would you suggest I just uninstall the AP before I take it in?

    Apparently my CEL light went off on it's own, but I assume the codes are still going to be present if Ford tech scans my car?
    The issue on my car still remains regardless.

  4. #4
    Administrator Staff Team 1467 Rep Points Fiesta ST of the Month Winner D1JL's Avatar
    Ratings | Rate Transaction

    Member #
    879
    Medals
    Earned First 100 Posts Earned First 500 Posts Earned First 1000 Posts Earned First 2000 Posts Earned First 25 Rep Points Earned First 50 Rep Points Earned First 100 Rep Points Earned First 200 Rep Points Earned First 1500 Posts and 300 Rep Points Earned First 2000 Posts and 400 Rep Points Earned First 5000 Posts and 500 Rep Points
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    SFV, So.Cal.
    State
    CA
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    5,355
    Mentioned
    86 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Likes Received
    1467


    Quote Originally Posted by AzNightmare View Post
    Would you suggest I just uninstall the AP before I take it in?
    Yes, that would be my suggestion as Ford may blame the AP/Tune and refuse to work on the car.

    Do you know what the code was?
    If it is a hard code the lite would still be on.
    However it may be a pending code and the lite can go off.
    You should be able to read codes with the AP.


  5. #5
    Member 141 Rep Points AzNightmare's Avatar
    0%
    Rate Transaction

    Member #
    4104
    Medals
    Earned First 100 Posts Earned First 500 Posts Earned First 25 Rep Points Earned First 50 Rep Points Earned First 100 Rep Points
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Iqaluit
    Country
    Canada
    Posts
    624
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Likes Received
    141


    Quote Originally Posted by D1JL View Post
    Yes, that would be my suggestion as Ford may blame the AP/Tune and refuse to work on the car.

    Do you know what the code was?
    If it is a hard code the lite would still be on.
    However it may be a pending code and the lite can go off.
    You should be able to read codes with the AP.


    Yes, I've already checked the code with my AP.
    P1450 comes up maybe once every 6 months. I cleared it twice because I assumed it had to do with that infamous issue with the idle dropping right after a fuel fill up.
    But just last week, I received a P2196. I cleared it just to see if it was a false alarm.
    Then a few days later, I received a P0131.

    I think both of those last 2 codes seem to have to do with the O2?

    My car during my commute also shut itself off with the red engine oil light on. It disappeared once I turned the ignition back on though. I went back home to check my oil levels but they are fine.
    I use my car for daily commuting so I had to keep driving it and every commute, it shuts itself off once...

    Definitely time to take it in. I've already made an appointment for the closest available date.

  6. #6
    New Member 20 Rep Points Tanner@FingerTuning's Avatar
    0%
    Rate Transaction

    Member #
    6571
    Medals
     
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Tulsa
    State
    AZ
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    36
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Likes Received
    20


    I'm not sure how many miles your ST has on it, but it could be the O2 sensor going bad which isn't uncommon with ST's that have over 50k miles.

  7. #7
    Member 141 Rep Points AzNightmare's Avatar
    0%
    Rate Transaction

    Member #
    4104
    Medals
    Earned First 100 Posts Earned First 500 Posts Earned First 25 Rep Points Earned First 50 Rep Points Earned First 100 Rep Points
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Iqaluit
    Country
    Canada
    Posts
    624
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Likes Received
    141


    Quote Originally Posted by Tanner@FingerTuning View Post
    I'm not sure how many miles your ST has on it, but it could be the O2 sensor going bad which isn't uncommon with ST's that have over 50k miles.
    lol, just under 25k, 40 months first owner...

    Not to mention, my trunk lift button failed about 2 months ago, so I can't even get that fix with warranty. Only way I can open my trunk is using the key fob now.

    Trying to stay calm...

  8. #8
    Administrator Staff Team 1467 Rep Points Fiesta ST of the Month Winner D1JL's Avatar
    Ratings | Rate Transaction

    Member #
    879
    Medals
    Earned First 100 Posts Earned First 500 Posts Earned First 1000 Posts Earned First 2000 Posts Earned First 25 Rep Points Earned First 50 Rep Points Earned First 100 Rep Points Earned First 200 Rep Points Earned First 1500 Posts and 300 Rep Points Earned First 2000 Posts and 400 Rep Points Earned First 5000 Posts and 500 Rep Points
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    SFV, So.Cal.
    State
    CA
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    5,355
    Mentioned
    86 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Likes Received
    1467


    Quote Originally Posted by AzNightmare View Post
    Not to mention, my trunk lift button failed about 2 months ago, so I can't even get that fix with warranty. Only way I can open my trunk is using the key fob now.

    That button is cheap and easy to replace.


  9. #9
    Member 141 Rep Points AzNightmare's Avatar
    0%
    Rate Transaction

    Member #
    4104
    Medals
    Earned First 100 Posts Earned First 500 Posts Earned First 25 Rep Points Earned First 50 Rep Points Earned First 100 Rep Points
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Iqaluit
    Country
    Canada
    Posts
    624
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Likes Received
    141


    Quote Originally Posted by D1JL View Post
    That button is cheap and easy to replace.
    If that's the issue. i'll be able to test that out over the weekend since I have a replacement one. Although I didn't see any water damage in the original one so not sure if it's the button or something else.

    Do you know if that trunk button has it's own fuse? Although I suspect if its a blown fuse, my key fob trunk function wouldn't work either.

  10. #10
    Administrator Staff Team 1467 Rep Points Fiesta ST of the Month Winner D1JL's Avatar
    Ratings | Rate Transaction

    Member #
    879
    Medals
    Earned First 100 Posts Earned First 500 Posts Earned First 1000 Posts Earned First 2000 Posts Earned First 25 Rep Points Earned First 50 Rep Points Earned First 100 Rep Points Earned First 200 Rep Points Earned First 1500 Posts and 300 Rep Points Earned First 2000 Posts and 400 Rep Points Earned First 5000 Posts and 500 Rep Points
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    SFV, So.Cal.
    State
    CA
    Country
    United States
    Posts
    5,355
    Mentioned
    86 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)
    Likes Received
    1467


    Guest-only advertisement. Register or Log In now!
    Quote Originally Posted by AzNightmare View Post
    Do you know if that trunk button has it's own fuse? Although I suspect if its a blown fuse, my key fob trunk function wouldn't work either.

    That is correct.
    The FOB works, so the BCM and latch work, so that negates any fuses.
    It could be a wire problem but it is most likely the button and the easiest to test/replace.


 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Clear bra did it's job well
    By Gone in 60 in forum Wash, Wax, Detailing & Paint Maintenance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-26-2018, 01:06 AM
  2. XPEL Clear Bra
    By Quasar in forum Wash, Wax, Detailing & Paint Maintenance
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 03-07-2018, 12:50 PM
  3. Clear Bra
    By DaveG99 in forum Exterior Cosmetic & Lighting Modifications
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-14-2016, 10:14 AM
  4. Trouble Code Won't Clear
    By timmytoast in forum Maintenance, Warranty Issues & Troubleshooting
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-03-2014, 02:51 AM
  5. Clear Bra and Waxing Car
    By NateDaGreat in forum Wash, Wax, Detailing & Paint Maintenance
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-23-2014, 05:00 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •