Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Neat - thermal R&D's.... R&D process

Clint Beastwood

2000 Post Club
Sorry for redundant title, but after doing all the acoustic testing myself I became a big fan of thermal R&D because of the acoustic engineering they do. Same stuff I did, with mics and a laptop in the car mapping out resonance, etc. to calculate helmholtz chamber volume, etc. I haven't seen any other fiesta ST exhausts engineered quite the same way, so I am a fan even though I don't have one. Enough of my rambling, here's the video detailing their processes.

[video=youtube;j3iA_UtUWt4]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j3iA_UtUWt4[/video]

Dpro

6000 Post Club
Ya these guys know the science. It was definitely a deciding factor in my purchase. I can appreciate using Helmholz filters as I am a sound engineer.

M-Sport fan

9000 Post Club
Supposedly CP-E did this as well for their Nexus system, but I doubt that they take it as far technically/scientifically as Thermal does. [:(]

OP
Clint Beastwood

Clint Beastwood

2000 Post Club
Thread Starter #4
Supposedly CP-E did this as well for their Nexus system, but I doubt that they take it as far technically/scientifically as Thermal does. [:(]
The CP-E isn't sized quite appropriately for the frequency range the FiST tends to drone with 3" exhaust, the thermal's spot-on. That's based on doing the math myself and eyeballing it, and pulling down recordings of both exhaust systems and running them through a spectrum analyzer.

I'm still trying to math my way to a perfectly sized chamber, but it's lead to:

1. I bought a welder. (I am garbage at it)
2. I bought a bunch of grinding/cutting tools.
3. I am taking welding classes.

This is how far I've gotten at this point:
Frequency 106.67 hz
Port area 0.0381 meters 1.5 inches