Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Will E30-E40 Ethanol Blends Damage The FiST Engine?

Rhinopolis

I have been doing some reading online and have seen statements that running ethanol in concentrations greater than 15%, can damage valves and other vital engine components unless the engine and vehicle are designated as a flex fuel vehicle. I don't believe that the FiST is flex fuel.

I have ZERO background in understanding this, and I would like facts from more knowledeable forum members. I recently started running an E30 tune, and I am mixing at the pump a blend of 93 octane gas with E85 to get between E30 and E40. I utilize this calculator for my percentages.

http://www.intercepteft.com/calc.html

I am now mildly concerned that I am going to somehow damage my engine by running E30/E40 , and my questions boils down to "will ethanol blends in the E30 to E40 range cause any long term damage to our engines that running pump gas will not?".

Thank you,

Ryan

dyn085

2000 Post Club
This was covered in the earlier days of the forum and I believe that the consensus was that the hardware is compatible with ethanol but that it isn't listed as flex-fuel capable because it can't support full E85. I wouldn't sweat it but if you're concerned then you could flush through a tank or two of E0-E10 every so often, utilizing the correct tune to support it, of course.

Almost all new cars are using E85 compatible materials in their fuel system. Manufacturers have figured out that it doesn't make sense to have two types of fuel line or fuel pump.

There are enough people using ethanol blends in EcoBoost engines that it is safe to say that the injectors and high pressure fuel pump are ethanol compatible.