Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Beginner track prep for 101k mile car

I recently bought a 101k mile 2016, and I'd like to use it for occasional track days (I'm a beginner). Besides the usual brakes and tires, what are things to look for on a stock high-milage vehicle before taking it to the track?

OP
E
Thread Starter #3
All fluids were recently changed, but still need to upgrade the brake fluid. Car seems to be in good mechanical condition, no leaks or obvious wear. Looking for things beyond normal maintenance that might show up on the track.

Any seals or bushings to look out for? Hoses, brackets, or welds to check?

For your first track days, I would just focus on good fluids and everything at the correct levels, brakes and tires.Keep an eye on the idiot gauges if you don't have any other temp read-outs.

In the future, stainless steel brake lines and upgraded motor mounts. Upgraded radiator if you run into overheating issues.

OP
E
Thread Starter #7
Rear motor mount is aftermarket, but it was installed around the time the car was purchased, and all the others are original oem. Could replace both side and rear.

Do the motor mounts wear out, or is the suggestion to replace them with stiffer mounts in general?

ronmcdon

radiator and maybe fmic to reduce heat soak. with fluids def also look into trans fluid. really like bg syncro from whoosh and now using motul gear 300. brake fluid love endless 650s although it is pricier. definitely get alignment bolts and see if you can dial in -2 front and -0.8 to -1 rear.

if you ever go with coilovers setting it at -3 front is even better imo.

if you feel spendy at some point recommend lsd and coilovers (love the meister r's and you get play with different spring rates)

Woods247

2000 Post Club