Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

FIST Stock Turbo Max PSI, where does it get dangerous?

Hello all, i had a fairly simple (i hope) question. I read the stock tunes for the FIST have the turbo somewhere around 21psi, although that's only from 3rd on, in 1st and 2nd it's limited to 19psi. Is this true and, what happens if you increase the PSI, will that increase power at the cost of increased pressure in your engine?

If the above assumptions are true, at what point does the PSI hit a critical mass and start to do damage? I would assume the stock tune PSI is on the conservative side, how far can we push it and is there anything that should accompany more pressure, like a better FMIC? Im very new to automotive and tuning (and forced induction) and just trying to get a feel for how this all works.

Hypergram

1000 Post Club
I'm not sure about the specific numbers, but I do know torque is electronically limited in first and second gear to reduce torque steer and shredding tires. This can be disabled though without causing any damage as part of a tune I believe. A new intercooler will reduce temps and will obviously help quite a bit. Apparently, the stock IC is pretty garbage. Sorry, I can't answer your other questions. I simply don't know the answers. I'm sure someone will come in soon though.

RubenZZZ

1000 Post Club
My understanding is that the factory reduced boost in 1st and 2nd to avoid driveline damage warranty claims. Also helps control torque steer.

Cobb's OTS and any flash tune will allow full boost in all gears (really wakes up the car!).

The turbo is tiny and boosting high psi from the factory. An aftermarket intercooler helps keep the air temps down specially when boosting past factory levels.

Sent from my LGLS992 using Tapatalk

OP
TalkToTheFiST
Thread Starter #4