Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Newbie - First Coilover Install Questions

Hey guys, I bought a used 2015 FiST that had Dynamic Pro Gravel Rally Coilovers installed and I'm replacing them with Bilstein 14 PSS coilovers that I bought secondhand from a fellow forum member (thanks Fistig).

It's my first time installing coilovers, so I'm following instructions from YT videos and some old forum threads. It's not bad so far. I just want to double check on some things. See picture:
  1. yellow circle - is this an adjustable sway bar end link? Previous owner didn't mention he had aftermarket ones installed. I had to extend it so the top bolt would go through the opening of the coilover. I don't think I did this right... how should I address this? Make the top even with the bottom and screw the nuts closer to the middle of the sway bar end link?
    • Prior to installation, I do notice some creaking when driving. Could it be the sway bar end link? Can they be greased or the only solution would be to replace them with new ones?
  2. red circles - these coilovers don't have somewhere for the brake line to clipped on. Instead, I saw these screw threads. Is there something sold separately, like a bracket?
  3. I haven't completed installation, but I'm not sure what to adjust the spring or preload to (with the spanner wrench). I thought they were plug and play, but they're set differently on both sides, so... not sure what to do there. I've never drove stock height, so I'd like to start with there or lower (lowered, but enough to scrape over speed bumps/etc.). Is it more trial and error with setting it or is there a more precise way to do it?

Attachments

the duke