Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Suspension Questions

Hi all, I’m considering lowering the car, and since I’m a cheap ass college student I’m looking exclusively at springs. I have a few questions though:

Will lowering springs hurt the vehicle’s ability to handle? I know I’m never really going to see the car at it’s limits, or at least if I do it will be rarely, but I can’t imagine that all of Ford’s engineering can be replicated by an aftermarket spring company. The only tangible benefit that I can actually see, in terms of handling and stability, would be the lowering of the center of gravity. Aside from that I see a few drawbacks, namely reducing the suspension travel, which could exacerbate the already stiff ride. I know I can combat that with smaller wheels and appropriately upsized tires, but if I’m losing suspension compliance AND peak grip/cornering stability it wouldn’t be worth it to me just to help the aesthetics of the car. I know there are other things to consider like scraping the bumper etc but that is my biggest concern. Do aftermarket springs interfere with the factories suspensions ability to be as magical as it is?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Dpro

6000 Post Club
Actually lowering springs on our cars quite often helps the ride as our cars are over damped. Putting a stiffer spring on actually evens out the difference as the stock springs are quite soft. Most people with lowering springs report the ride stiffer but better as in less bouncy and more firm. Stock our cars are quite bouncy which is what happens when you over damp a suspension.
They will not interfere with the handling and will in fact improve it. Because less bounce means more even traction and compliance over different surfaces.