Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Sway Bars Cracking Subframe?

So I was on reddit looking at our car's subforum when I clicked on this imgur link:

http://imgur.com/a/qNe3o

Noticed a comment from some anon on the internet claiming to be a Ford engineer for the Fiesta ST and asking the poster not to add sway bars to the car because they cause the subframe to crack.

Anyone have any comments on this besides 'don't believe everything you read on the interwebz'?

JasonHaven

I sent him a message linking to here, to see if he'll drop by and talk about it/back it up with data or something.

D1JL

7000 Post Club
Staff Member
Premium Account
U.S. Navy Veteran
I find this difficult to believe.
Although I must clarify that I am not an engineer as I do not drive trains for a living.
This would mean that those with standard Fiestas must be having a lot of problems as they have a larger front sway bar as OE.

Dave

OP
InsTwin
Thread Starter #4
Nice! Great idea, hopefully we get some response.

Edit: Also, looking at his post he says 'please don't upgrade front or rear' but there is no rear sway bar even to upgrade on the FiST?

There are mounting points (which I thought was strange since it doesn't come with a rear sway bar).

RAAMaudio

5000 Post Club
The standard Fiesta bar is not all that big so likely not an issue but I have seen cracked sub frames, fixed a few, on other cars with this issue.

mxq