Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Suspension Gurus: Coilovers .VS. Strut/Shock

Is there any suspension gurus that can answer a couple of my questions?

I’m very indecisive on what suspension set up I want to go with my FiST.

———————————————————
Background: I am an independent college student, so I can’t afford to spend $1,700 on some KW V3’s. My FiST is my main commuter for going back home which is a 3 hour drive one way. My car sits for the majority of the week, but it is my “daily driver”. I have no interest in tracking/autoX my FiST. Maybe the just the occasional canyon run.

I’m mainly just looking to lower my FiST for aesthetic purposes. I’m new to the car scene so dampening isn’t too important for me, and I understand I drive a “sports” car so if the ride is a bit harsh so what?
———————————————————
Goal: Lower my FiST while getting the best bang for my buck.
———————————————————
Options:
1.) Bilstein B14 ($799) or Bilstein B14 (PSS) ($920)
*What is the difference between the two?*

Pros:
- Affordable
- Bilstein (Reputable/Quality)
- Height Adjustability

Cons:
- No top hats (?)
- Will need to purchase new OEM components such as bump stops (right?)
——————————————————
2.) Bilstein B8/H&R Sport Springs

Pros:
– Most Affordable Option
– Bilstein/H&R (Reputable/Quality)

Cons:
- Non-Adjustable
- Same Cons as B14’s
——————————————————
3.) Fortune Auto 500’s Coilovers

Pros:
- 5 Year Warranty
- Height/Dampening Adjustability
- Fully Rebuildable/Upgradable
- Replace OEM Components
- Reputable/Quality

Cons:
- Most Expensive Option
- Possible Overkill for what I need?
- Long wait period to be built
- Will most likely not utilize all of the dampening features
———————————————————

Let me know what you think would be best and feel free to chime in your own experiences.