Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Wastegate Questions and Discussion

Hi everyone I recently purchased an ATP 2554r turbo from a fellow forum member who told me that they put a 22 psi wastegate on it to help with spool. I don't really know enough about it to know whether it is true or not. I failed trying to search out info. So I guess my question is... how does a higher waste gate help with spool? Are there any other benefits? Is it safe for the FIST ? If not should I just purchase a turbo smart wastegate and work with that?

I love reading about this stuff so answer away so that I may become better educated!

Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'm no expert either but the basic idea is, the stiffer the spring the more pressure is required for the actuator to open the wastegate. If a wastegate is being held closed for longer, then all the exhaust is being forced through the turbine rather than some of it escaping through the wastegate thus making the turbo spool sooner than if some of the exhaust had escaped through the waste gate. Getting a stiffer spring is a fairly common upgrade for these cars as a number of people have noticed that the stock actuator is fairly soft meaning your wastegate could be opening while you are trying to spool up, therefore delaying the build up of pressure. If you want an example, I believe the stock spring is something like 7 psi? Most guys running hybrid turbos are running either an 11psi or 17psi spring just for the added duration of the waste gate being closed.

OP
STAZ15
Thread Starter #3
Thanks!!! Great info! I contacted my tuner yesterday to let him know about the install when I told him about the wastegate at 22 pounds he was like "ho-ly.... sh&$" and I was like what?! He didn't respond just wrote me a map for it ha ha