Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Turbosmartusa plum back and flutter.

I decided to purchase the Turbosmart plumb back valve instead of the kompact one. After speaking to Turbosmart on not needing to adjust the valve and the fact that it would be louder then stock, but not obnoxiously loud I was sold. I have been driving with it for 2 months now and feel like I am getting surge from the valve. There is a definite flutter under half throttle lift off boost and full throttle life off. Along with a loud whistle sound on top of the turbo spool whistle sound. Has anybody installed this valve and had similar symptoms? I took it off and checked the seals and reinstalled to make sure everything was installed properly. I don't want to have this valve on if it is going to cause surging. Just wanted to know if anybody has encountered this. Thank you.

Yeah, mine (50/50) does all of that too. Someone correct us but any amount of turbo flutter is bad news, correct?

OP
L
Thread Starter #3
https://youtu.be/JtiCgFvRWVQ

Recorded a video of what I'm taking about. While you can not hear the full throttle whistle through the video as much the flutter towards the end is what I'm more concerned about as it does it at half throttle lift off and full.

Yeah I flutter a ton at low rpm stock... I have an intake so you can really hear it. its not great but seems our cars do it some naturally.

Sent from my XT1064 using Tapatalk

TempeST

There should be an adjustment on the valve itself to loosen up the "activation" I recall watching a video showing that the adjustment on the valve is by moving the vacuum source attachment to the left or right. Have you guys tried that?