Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Fiesta st og focus st

André

Hi! I am looking to buy a fiesta st or focus st. I am leering towards the focus,but I'm hesitant due to the engine.is the engine in focus that bad or are many of the incidents,due to bad tuning?

XR650R

2000 Post Club
Premium Account
I'm no expert, but from what I've read, most people had problems with tuned engines and aftermarket BOVs on the FoST. But, there are horror stories on any car forum. The more you beat on a car, the more likely you are to break something.

The FoST is the nicer car. It's bigger and faster with a nicer interior. I just like the FiST for the go kart handling and better mileage.

Take your time and test drive both. Lots of people leave them stock. That's probably your best bet. Look for an unmodified one with low miles. Just know that they're performance cars, and people drive them like they are.

Driven all the STs. Own an RS and a FiST. This is the best I can describe your choices:
Focus ST (FoST): A front wheel drive mustang. Heavy through corners, fast acceleration, slightly more usable space than the FiST, smoother ride than the FiST. Better for drag races at a street light.
Fiesta ST (FiST): A front wheel drive lotus elise hatchback. Light, nimble, great handling, super responsive steering. Slow acceleration (feels fastish - but isn't), bumpy ride quality. Horrible for racing at street lights. Must be willing to peg the throttle.

OP
A

André

Thread Starter #4