Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

MFactory LSD installation question

I encountered the dreaded clutch pedal issue that a flush didn't fix, so since the transmission had to be dropped anyway, I decided to have a new clutch put in as well as a limited-slip differential. I ordered a MFactory diff with a Ford Performance LSD install kit from Whoosh, as well as new OEM clutch disk/plate, master, and slave cylinders.

I am not a mechanic, and this kind of thing is beyond my capability, so I hired a local transmission shop to do the work. The shop claims to have done plenty of this stuff.

Unfortunately, after dropping the transmission and attempting to swap in the new LSD, the trans shop called me to tell me there was a problem with the replacement bearings supplied by the Ford Performance LSD kit. Specifically, the outer diameter of the rollers appears to be too large to fit back into the casing. I don't know all of the terminology here, so I apologize if I am spewing nonsense. But they claim to have measured the outer diameter of the rollers on the replacement bearing after it had been pressed onto the LSD and compared it to the OEM bearing on the open diff, and it was measurably larger. I went down to the shop in person, and they showed me how the OEM diff drops back in without any force, but the new one is too large. When I asked if it was just tight because it was new, the master tech at the shop swore to me that it wasn't right, and that the bearings were either faulty or the wrong ones.