Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Drove one of these today and fell in love, just the right tweaks and it would be incredible.

OP
R

RAAMaudio

5000 Post Club
Thread Starter #21
I like that KMiata!

If I do end up getting an ND Miata I would do the mods listed and street/ track it and most likely consider setting up the FiST for dirt:)

I have very little experience with the S2000 but will look into them a bit more but I have been a die hard Miata fan since day one, before that my love was the Datsun roadsters.

meFiSTo

If you want to HPDE/time trail track that thing, I suspect you'd have to put cage in it (at least a 4-pointer) and then all the associated changes (fixed-position racing seats, remove airbags, racing wheel, 6-point belts, etc.). From what I can tell, many if not most organizers are wary of soft-top cars without added roll-over protection. There are exceptions for sure. Around here (the northwest), the organizers are very liability conscious.

As to the S2000, there were two versions -- the initial one and then one update, I think. I don't know model nomenclature, but my understanding is that the second iteration had some understeer dialed in due to the propensity for the original design to snap oversteer in certain situations (I saw the result of such an occurrence at Portland back in 2006ish).

There is also a rumor of an S2000 replacement coming, although it may be a smoke and mirrors pipe dream.

OP
R

RAAMaudio

5000 Post Club
Thread Starter #23