Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Feels like ABS is always active, even at very low speed with gentle braking.

JoeS

Fiesta ST 2007. When braking, even very lightly, it feels from the brake pedal like the ABS is operating all the time. Is this a common issue with the ST, and what is the fix please?

Last edited:
This sounds like brake judder. I am not an expert but you might want to look for high spots on the rotors or pad marks that indicate uneven wear. You could have the caliper pins sliding unevenly causing pads to wear uneven against the rotor. Sometimes torquing the lug nuts unevenly can cause this issue as that's what I had on my car. Replaced the pads & rotors and the problem was gone. It is quite difficult to check condition of breaks with the wheels still on, sometimes I find the inner pads wear much more than the outer pads. Also careful when swapping out the pads as there is a difference between an inner pad and the outer pad.
Another thing to look out for is uneven tyre wear. Our break pedal is quite communicative so I wouldn't be surprised if the tyre is corded or something..

TyphoonFiST

9000 Post Club
Premium Account
Wheel bearing could be at fault or the Abs sensor dirty or tone ring of the wheel bearing has any could be dirty also not allowing the vehicle to fully see the signal.

OP
J

JoeS

Thread Starter #6
Wheel bearing could be at fault or the Abs sensor dirty or tone ring of the wheel bearing has any could be dirty also not allowing the vehicle to fully see the signal.
Can dirt make a difference to sensors, I thought they worked magnetically not optically?

OP
J

JoeS

Thread Starter #7