Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Fiesta ST Intercooler/Chargepipe upgrade... worth it?

I've been reading posts about the intercooler upgrades, and I have a couple questions. Full disclosure: I'm a bit new to this whole "tuning" thing.

I've been looking at the Mountune intercooler and charge pipe upgrade kit, and I've read a few posts here that said that upgrading the intercooler doesn't actually add power. That doesn't... that doesn't sound right, but, again, new to turbo cars here.

Hey man welcome first of all[wave]
Second think of an intercooler like your radiator, it's job is to cool the cars coolant. So while a bigger radiator will allow a hard driven vehicle to run more stable temps vs smaller stock radiator. The larger/upgraded intercooler allows your car's air charge temperature to stay more consistent. Therein not making more hp/tq persay but making the most available hp/tq given ambient air temps and heatsoak etc.

OP
M
Thread Starter #3
So would it be correct to say that, if you're just casually adding mods (cold air, exhaust), the intercooler can probably be skipped. but if you want to go a little more complicated (down pipe, Accessport, etc.), then put on an intercooler.

Installed the Accessport, an injen intake and the cp-e downpipe.... Yesterday I drove to my local drags and the car heatsoaked after two runs... NEED THE INTERCOOLER SOOOO BADLY! =(

BlueBomber

1000 Post Club
I've been reading posts about the intercooler upgrades, and I have a couple questions. Full disclosure: I'm a bit new to this whole "tuning" thing.

I've been looking at the Mountune intercooler and charge pipe upgrade kit, and I've read a few posts here that said that upgrading the intercooler doesn't actually add power. That doesn't... that doesn't sound right, but, again, new to turbo cars here.