Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Hitting the 1/4 mile tomorrow, guesses on ET?

Taking my stock '15 ST to US 41 drag strip tomorrow. Should have great air. DAs were around -900 today hopefully tomorrow too.

They're known for terrible prep and it's hovering around 45* so traction will probably be an issue. Definitely not my first rodeo. But it is my first time at the track with fwd.

I figure if I can 60' in the 2.1 I may be looking at 14.5s. Who knows. Guesses?

If you can get a 2.1 60' and the temps are good and the DA is good probably 14.6-14.9. Good luck let us know how you do. [shakehands]

OP
StayPuft
Thread Starter #3
Thanks! Any tips on squeezing the best ets out of these cars? Are you taking it to redline or short shifting to stay in the torque band? I noticed on stock dyno sheets that power tapers off quick above 6k

Pray for traction. Find what works best for you but I shift at 6k. Be gentle with the launch and try not to wheel hop.

OP
StayPuft
Thread Starter #6
As expected, traction was seriously lacking. Best time was 14.9 @ 95mph with 2.3 60'. No track prep, didn't mess with tire psi, and temps were low 40s.

Now that my racing excuses are out of the way, can't wait to get at it in the spring. Hopefully with a tune and exhaust!

OP
StayPuft
Thread Starter #8
Thanks! Traction will come and go but I'm real happy with the mph. Highest mph was 95.7 so I know the power is there.

My previous experiences drag racing were rwd v8s with either a big stall or dumping the clutch on a Ford 9" rear with 315 Mickey Thompson drag radials. Fwd is definitely a different ball game at the strip.

JPGC

2000 Post Club
Thanks! Traction will come and go but I'm real happy with the mph. Highest mph was 95.7 so I know the power is there.