Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Learning stick on 2018 Fiesta ST

Hey everyone,

I’ve been dreaming of getting a Fiesta st for close to two years nows. My lease just expired so I ran out and bought one.
However after practicing on it for 3 days, the slave cylinder failed and I had to have the car towed to the shop. Fortunately it was covered

I just got the car back but as soon as I start practicing, the car started smoking. Idk what I’m doing wrong. Since I’m learning I’m trying to keep the rpms between 2 and 3000 when going into 1st gear. Am I taking my foot off the clutch to slow or are the Rpms too high? I’ve watched YouTube videos and some people were saying to keep the Rpms around 1500 but I kept stalling out

any thoughts or advice would be appreciated!

Last edited:

RubenZZZ

1000 Post Club
You don’t need so much rpm. It’ll grab around 1k and pull just fine from there. The engine makes enough power to not need so much slippage of the clutch.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Practice letting the clutch out until the car just starts to roll without using the gas, and as soon as the car starts moving clutch in and stop. Once you get used to that point on the clutch where the car is just starting to move, simply add a little throttle and continue to let the clutch out. With a bit of practice you should be able to get the car rolling without slipping the clutch much at all.

FWIW, you should be able to go from full stop to idling in 1st without using the gas at all. You have to slip the clutch a bit, but you'll really get a feel for the clutch if that's all you're paying attention to and not worried about applying throttle.

Ford ST

2000 Post Club