Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

An Efficient Stage ‘Zero’

Yelbom15

U.S. Army Veteran
I know we speak of the quickest times and what stages we’re at but I’ve been thinking of just the factory tune. Just that but with every physical upgrade possible.

Is anyone rocking a fair share of upgrades but with the factory tune?

From what I’m told, none of these upgrades are worth it when not tuned but it has to be 10 times more efficient than stock components, no?

XR650R

2000 Post Club
Premium Account
Nothing wrong with the stock tune. You can go for other mods to make make it better, and it'll be better.

Stkid93

Premium Account
Let me start off by saying I’m still fairly new to this platform and there are others that will be far more knowledgeable than me. But I think I am able to answer this question.

this does vary platform to platform. I know on my srt4 neon I saw huge gains from installing and intake and exhaust even without tuning. But this was also a car made in 2005 and utilized a boost based tuning strategy. Thinfs are very different nowadays.

from what I understand the fist uses a load/torque targeting tune style. Meaning, the car will target a certain amount of load and torque based off the settings in the ecus load to torque tables and torque to load tables. What this means is the car will raise or lower boost pressure to meet these parameters. That is why you will see less boost in winter and more in the summer. Because the air is denser in the cold, the car doesn’t require as much boost to meet its desired load and torque.