Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Dealer says brakes need service at 25k miles

TheStig

Had my earl changed today at a local Ford Dealer whom id say I trust, but they mentioned the front brakes on my car will need attention within the next month and the rears shortly after. Now I am no brake expert or car expert for that matter, but that seems pretty early for a car thats barely over a year old with 25k miles on it.

I dont do any tracking of the car, spirited driving here and there with id say 80% highway miles.

What the hell gives that my pads are apparently giving up the ghost so early?

The service adviser quoted me $179 per axle, $716 flippin dollars total.

Anyone else had this issue? My MS3 had 70k miles on it before brakes, and my FA5 SI had almost 100k before brakes.

[paranoid]

CanadianGuy

4000 Post Club
What are they quoting for $716? Brake shoes are not that much. Install is not that much. Now the Feista ST has traction control that use the brakes which can wear them down sooner.

Chuckable

That does sound a bit early as compared to other cars, but the FiST pads apparently wear pretty quickly. I've got one HPDE and one autocross and at 7k miles I have about 30% front pads left. If all the dealer is doing is replacing front and rear pads for $716 then you should buy them on Amazon or RockAuto and save yourself a bundle!

I had a 2010 F-150 that had to have the rotors turned before 60K miles. Dealer charged me a reasonable $83, but said: had the pads been worn out it all would have been covered on warranty.

Warranty?

OP
TheStig

TheStig

Thread Starter #5
They are calling it wear and tear of course, i never mentioned anything warranty wise yet. Wanted to see if this was common first.

The report they run with the "Works" package says needs attention, all brakes at 6mm

OP