Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Trouble getting into 1st gear even when completely stopped.

I just picked up my 2015 Fiesta ST this week and absolutely love the car! I noticed on the drive home (and almost every time I drive) some difficulty getting the car into 1st gear when completely stopped.

I want to stress that I am NOT trying to shift into 1st while the car is moving. This happens when I'm at a dead stop (usually waiting at a red light in neutral... light turns green... try to put it into 1st... won't go in). I've been driving manual cars for over 15 years and this is the first time I've experienced this.

If i press the shift lever to the left very softly and deliberately apply minimal pressure, then move the lever up into 1st, it goes in without any problems. But when I press the lever against the left side with "normal" pressure, that is when it sometimes gets stuck when pushing up into 1st. It feels like the lever is getting caught on the corner of the gate where it normally enters for reverse.

Have any of you guys had this issue with getting into 1st gear?

Thanks!!

koozy

3000 Post Club
typical of a new gearbox, put several thousands of urban shifting miles and it should get smoother.

I would take it back to the dealer and ask them to take a look and see.It's under warranty right?

OP
M
Thread Starter #4
typical of a new gearbox, put several thousands of urban shifting miles and it should get smoother.
Thanks! I hope that's true for me. I've only had the car for 3 days and it's already become a major annoyance.

I would take it back to the dealer and ask them to take a look and see.It's under warranty right?
Ya, it's still under warranty. It's literally 3 days old! I think I'll mention it to the dealership, demonstrate it to them and see what they say. Thanks!

Rhinopolis