Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

? IAT/MAF spacer mod ?

jeff

2000 Post Club
A forum member contacted me and asked if he could mail me (free) a mod he designed and printed on a 3D printer. This was a very kind gesture so I happily said "yes". I am looking for insight on whether this is snake oil or legitimate. I know some about our cars but I am not an engineer nor designer so I would like further commentary on the legitimacy of this idea based on understanding of the ECU and tuning compensation and other variables.

It is the infamous "IAT/MAF spacer mod".

From the designer:
"I have been running it for a couple of years now with no problems. I experimented with various heights and this is the max height without affecting the Intake temperature readings. The spacer moves the IAT sensor further outside the intake track and allows for a cleaner and more efficient airflow. Before you ask, I do not know if this adds any horsepower or torque. I can say that I do notice a difference with it installed. This sensor doesn't measure air flow or volume, only the incoming air temps. It is not an MAF, the only thing this fancy sensor does is measure the incoming air temps. You can research this on the forums for a verification. It doesn’t measure the amount of incoming air."

My thoughts: