Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Removing brake rotors 2016 fiSt

Hi, this is my first time changing my brakes on my st and i literally cannot remove my brake calipers. can someone please help me im a single dad and this is my daily i have to get it back on this road and this is setting me back so much. i’ve been banging on it with a hammer i have new pads and rotors i just cannot for the life of me get mine off

green_henry

1000 Post Club
Do you have Liquid Wrench or any other penetrating oil? I would spray that around the lug holes in the rotor and tap on the rotor gently with a mallet to help it seep in. Give it a few minutes and then give the rotor a few taps from behind. Just make sure to remove any remaining oil with brake cleaner when you're done.

OP
V
Thread Starter #3
i’m going to try that i have brake/clutch cleaner that’s it but i’ve sprayed the middle i’ll spray around the areas with the lug holes im just kind of at my wits end

green_henry

1000 Post Club
Cleaner might help, but I kinda doubt it because it dries out too fast. If you don't have a true penetrant, CLP (cleaner-lubricant-protectant) or WD-40 might work; you can usually get it (WD-40) at the supermarket if the other stores are closed.

TyphoonFiST

9000 Post Club
Premium Account
Did you remove the caliper and caliper bracket? Its two bolts on the backside for each. These need to come off before anything to get the rotor off. Then i would put one lug nut back on the wheel stud...Loosely..not fully tightened down. Then proceed to hit the old rotor from the back side with a hammer of your choice[driving]

Last edited:

LilPartyBox

1000 Post Club
Premium Account