Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Coolant loss

Hi all,

I have recently purchased a 2014 fiesta st 2, I love it :)

However I seem to be losing coolant and can’t figure out where!

I have done a pressure test and combustion test which was all clear, so no leaks and no engine fumes in coolant. So I thinking it’s not head gasket!
I have also looked around the engine and can’t see no wet patches although I haven’t checked underneath so do need to get it on the ramps at the weekend.

I have also replaced the expansion tank cap as I have read these fail sometimes.

what else should I be checking? I’m at a loss!! I am no mechanic but like to think I’m a good problem solver with the help of forums, you tube and Google lol, but this is beating me!!

the guy we bought it off did say he changed a few of the pipes coming off the expansion tank as they were deteriorated but other than that it was all good.

Any advice would be great

thanks all :)

How much coolant, i.e. how much over what time period?

Has the coolant been changed recently? If so, air pockets could be working their way out.

I know you said no puddles. Check around the water pump for seepage.

And goes without saying, but make sure you are checking parked at the same spot and the same engine and ambient temp each time to account for differences in coolant expansion/level.

OP
K
Thread Starter #4
I topped it up on Saturday afternoon from min level to max.

I have only driven to work the last couple of days so approx 70 miles and it’s dropped to just above min level again.

I checked it when I got home today when I turned the engine off. I will check again In the morning before I leave for work.

not sure if coolant has been changed the chap just said he changed the pipes from the expansion tank and nothing else.