Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Who Can Lend a Hand in Portland?

XanRules

Hi y'all,

It's about time for me to do my 60k service (I'm at 62k so far). I am going to be doing front and rear brakes (pads, rotors, and fluid), and I've never done brakes before so I would love an experienced/extra set of hands. If you want to help with any of the other crap - transmission fluid, coolant flush, etc - that's great, but really I just need help with the brakes. I plan to do this on a weekend at Gearhead Garage over in Tigard as he has a lift and tools. I have not booked a time slot yet and am happy to work with your schedule. I plan to do this at some point before the end of next month.

Happy to buy you lunch or beers in return. If you are willing/able to help out, let me know!

Cheers!

gtx3076

1000 Post Club
Looking to move up there. Just took my electrical license test. Won’t be there soon enough to help.

I'm a tad too far geographically, but FWIW this is the video I used as a reference when I did mine

View: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QJ5Q6-Ee0UQ

Couple of things I bumped into:
* If your front pad set didn't come with new sliding clips, I would get those from RockAuto to save time scrubbing the old ones off, they get pretty grimy.
* Make sure you have a low enough profile wrench to hold front caliper pins from rotating (I think its 15mm). I found someone to machine a regular wrench down for me but I also heard bike wrenches work well too.
* If you changed / refilled your brake fluid since you had old pads installed, you have more fluid than necessary for brand new pad thickness and the extra fluid will likely go over the top of the reservoir when you start spreading the calipers. Have something on hand to siphon it out.

OP
XanRules

XanRules

Thread Starter #4