Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Loud popping sound under hard acceleration? Noob here.

Hey guys, I haven't had a turbo car since the mid nineties, so maybe this is a normal thing. Earlier today, I had a Cobb RMM installed, and when I got on the car hard afterwards, there was a loud pop sound that came from under the hood when I let off the throttle. Is this just the BOV or something? No lights came on, and everything ran fine afterwards, but it freaked me out enough to ask here.

me32

1000 Post Club
Maybe you didnt tq it down all the way cause if the pop wasnt there before then all signs point to install

OP
AnArmyOfJuan
Thread Starter #3
Maybe you didnt tq it down all the way cause if the pop wasnt there before then all signs point to install
ModBargains did the install. I don't think I've come off the throttle that hard before, either. I'm guessing it was just the diverter valve making its presence known for the first time. I figure it would have happened again or my car would have thrown a code if something bad happened, right?

dyn085

2000 Post Club
I definitely wouldn't attribute a 'pop' sound to the dv as I don't recall a single other person ever describing it with that word. I agree with me32-if the sound wasn't there pre-install but was then heard post-install...

If you're not hearing it anymore I wouldn't be overly concerned though. If it comes back up I would double-check the install.

D1JL

7000 Post Club
Staff Member
Premium Account
U.S. Navy Veteran
If your still coming on the drive with us today we will have others listen to it.

Dave