Welcome to the #1 Fiesta ST Forum and Fiesta ST community dedicated to Fiesta ST owners and enthusiasts. Register for an account, it's free and it's easy, so don't hesitate to join the Fiesta ST Forum today!

Starting Advanced OAR and ignition correction discussion

Stkid93

Premium Account
I’m new to the fist platform. I understand the basics of what OAR and ignition corrections do. But I would like to know more about how they work together. For example my fist is currently tuned on e30, but I always add a little extra ethanol so it’s really running on an e38-e40 mixture, it has a -1 OAR. And maxes out on 2.5 degrees of timing added via the corrections. When my fist was on the 93 map, it would add up to 4 degrees. Why does the 93 tune add more timing than e30?

I also understand the fist constantly ups timing to maximize economy and performance. So will the car add more than the 2.5 degrees? Or is 2.5 the max the car will add? and if the car will add more timing, how much will it add

now let’s say the OAR drops to .75, will the maximum ignition correction drop from 2.5 down to say 1.5 or 2 degrees? Do the oar and corrections work in tandem like that?

Feel free to add more to this discussion, I would like to start an advanced discussion on this stuff, way past the basics.

Dialcaliper

My basic impression is that Corrections and OAR are basically to timing what fuel trims (STFT & LTFT) are to fueling and AFR, and yes, they work in tandem

When there’s no knock, the ECU will attempt to advance timing corrections on each cylinder and when it detects knock it will retard timing corrections. If the global max correction value persists somewhere besides near the middle (0 to -1), it will contribute to a shift in the OAR value, which has a global affect on timing. (OAR also takes input and has affects on other ECU parameters besides just timing)